BizTalk 2009 Incompatible with SQL 2008 R2

Introduction
 
After responding to a few community threads about BizTalk 2009 compatibility on W2K8 R2 and SQL 2008 R2, I decided to try an install with BizTalk 2009 and SQL 2008 R2 to see if I noticed any incompatibilities. I had not tried this combination before so I decided it was worth a few hours
of time to determine how well it worked.
 
I have already confirmed that BizTalk 2009 works fine on W2K8 R2 although this is not an officially supported configuration. On one of my client’s projects this is the environment configuration and it is running quite well. But on this specific project we are running SQL 2008 [R1]. Next are the steps I took to install everything.
If you have any questions about installing this configuration I recommend the BizTalk 2009 install guide. Most of the screenshots for SQL 2008 R1 look the same as for SQL 2008 R2.
 
Installation Steps
 
1. Used a W2K3 R2 SP2 base image to start out with. SQL 2008 R2 supports W2K3 so this was acceptable.
 
2. Installed SQL 2008 R2 November CTP. Since I had a copy of this version I used it although SQL 2008 R2 RTM was released to MSDN subscribers recently about a week ago (5/3/2010). I followed the directions at http://www.sqlcoffee.com/SQLServer2008_0013.htm which gives directions for the November CTP. 
  – I chose to uncheck SQL Replication, Fulltext indexing, and SQL Server Books Online.
 
3. Installed VS 2008
  – I chose to uncheck VB.NET, C++, and SQL Express.
 
4. Installed BizTalk 2009.
 
5. Configured BizTalk 2009.
When configuring BizTalk, it failed on the Group with the error:
 
Failed to create Management database “BizTalkMgmtDb” on server “BENC-NEWBASE”.
Error “0x80040E1D” occurred.
 
To try to get around the error, I tried the following things but was not successful:
– Enable TCP/IP, named pipes in SQL Configuration Manager.
 
I think the root of this problem is that the code used to create the BizTalkMgmtDb may be used a data type no longer supported in SQL 2008 R2.
 
Conclusion
 
Apparently SQL 2008 R2 is both not supported and not compatible with BizTalk 2009. This was a big surprise for me. After doing some digging I did find this post about compatibility: http://blogs.msdn.com/biztalkcpr/archive/2009/11/09/biztalk-09-and-sql-r2-not-supported-biztalk-09-and-project-references.aspx. It is hard to find because the naming is not full – I do not call it BizTalk 09 or Sql R2.
 
We will have to wait for BizTalk 2010 for SQL 2008 R2 support.
,

  1. #1 by Mark on May 14, 2010 - 3:10 pm

    Have you tried installing on SQL Server 2008 and upgrading to SQL Server 2008 R2? Maybe the upgrade will "transform" that field into a 2008R2 allowed type?

  2. #2 by Ben on May 14, 2010 - 3:35 pm

    Mark, it is a good idea, but I anticipate there are other issues – probably many of the stored procs would need to be rewritten. I do not think a SQL upgrade will fix the stored procs. It is possible but I would also expect the SQL upgrade to fail.

  3. #3 by Steef-Jan on May 18, 2010 - 7:48 pm

    Hi Ben. Nice post and will shed some light in darkness around SQL Server 2008 R2 and BizTalk 2009. Your conclusion in the end tells the story and confirms my thinking.

Leave a Reply

